Why Do We Remain Asleep and Oblivious to Our Surroundings?


The world is going through massive changes.  Information overload, exponential increases in natural phenomena such as earthquakes and volcanoes, weather changes that are extreme, collapses of economies and age-old institutions like the Catholic church and we do nothing. In our local communities our schools are deteriorating, our homes are being emptied by banksters and our police, fire departments, and hospitals are collapsing, and we do nothing.  Our political system is in shambles and our banking system is corrupt beyond description, and we do nothing.  We are fighting wars in places we have no idea about the local cultures and customs against enemies that have no faces.  All along subjecting our brightest and best youth to prolonged combat, with no clear directive or outcome, and we say nothing.

I have written much in this blog about the need to wake up and question the things around us.  I have encouraged us all to get involved again in meaningful ways as it relates to our political process. I have tried to educate and inform my fellow friends in life to get off their butts and do anything.  To demand the facts and to know the truth.  There is no such thing as a little act or insignificant effort.  But still I get the sense that not many are listening and those that are listening are not doing much more.  Why?

Machiavelli observed that religion and its teachings of uncritical faith, hope, charity, love, humility and patience under suffering were factors that render men weak and cause them to care less about worldly and political things, and thus they will turn political power over to wicked men who are not influenced by such ideals (though they may easily pretend to be). Of course, the real trick is to convince people that the “afterlife” is the only thing worth thinking about, and it is to this end that the monotheistic religions have been formulated. It is also to this end that many of the New Age beliefs and “formulations” of the “subjective truths” seem to have been engineered. All you have to do is have faith or meditate so as to feel “love” for everything and everybody. Nothing is said about the day by day struggle, and the necessity for action that could contribute to different, positive outcome in the present objective reality in which we live and move and have our being. The future is forged in the present by what we DO. The Butterfly Effect.

The “hard sciences” are generally based on concepts which can be expressed concisely and elegantly in mathematics. They have exerted all their efforts to construct a physical universe of magnificent calculations and hypotheses. This mathematical universe is often unspeakably abstract, composed of symbols that express a physical reality beyond the realm of common thought, and yet, if you ask any of them “why?” you probably won’t get an answer. Science is supposed to tell us what and how and where and, sometimes, even when – but they don’t have much to say about who and how.

Maybe that is why we are experiencing what we are experiencing at this juncture. We are far off course. Aboriginal religions among American Indians, African tribes and Aborigines seem to have maintained an understanding of the who, how, and why.  But they have been pushed so far into the backwaters of modern society that their understanding is all but lost.

I have spent the last 30 years searching and pondering just those questions.  I have plowed literally through hundreds of thousands of pages of ancient texts, studied every religion, experienced rituals, and yes even participated in some what I would call supernatural experiences. Through it all, I must say I have learned how easy it is to want to grab onto a single concept or believe and say Eureka! This is it.

However, over time you learn that everything you learn is in the context only of what you have experienced till that moment, and at the very next moment you will perceive a wider horizon.  With that said, however, some things are certain.  Well at least as certain as is allowable in a universe that operates on the chaos theory.   What is certain is that YOU matter. Your thoughts and your actions are creating the future.  Not just your future, but the future of everything everywhere. I also know, not believe, that there are only two personality types to all the sentient beings in the universe, those who are in service to themselves and those who are in service to others.

I would hope at the minimum we would all ask ourselves daily why are we here? What am I doing and do I feel I am doing what I am supposed to be doing? I don’t believe we have a pre-destiny, but I do believe we have goals and personal missions to accomplish that go above surviving.  These days by asking these two simple questions everyday, I must admit I am in awe of the world and its events, and I welcome both the joys and tribulations the universe sends my way.  It is after all the cosmic dance that matters.  It is simply being and being in a state of calm and joy in that state of conciousness.  Try it.  You will like it.

Author: redhawk500

International business consultant, author, blogger, and student of life. After 35 years in business, trying to wake the world to a new reality. One of prosperity, abundance, and most importantly equal opportunity. it's time to redistribute wealth and power.

3 thoughts on “Why Do We Remain Asleep and Oblivious to Our Surroundings?”

  1. Beautifully said. Being a member of the Chinook Indian Nation, I struggle myself to keep traditional ways in a contemporary world. Challenging. I applaud your efforts to wake up the masses. I also appreciate what you say about the balance of “love” and “struggle.” This is the balance that I understand from my own culture, that to ignore the darkness and challenges leaves us all off-kilter and a bit in denial. I know that we all have the capacity to engage challenge with purpose, strength, and wisdom while allowing ourselves the time to grieve, strain, and wrestle. I too welcome all that the universe sends my way. It is rich indeed.

    1. Dearest Runa:

      Thank you for your kind words. It is reassuring that there are those of like mind. It isn’t as if I didn’t already know that, but it is always pleasant to have the universe re-enforce it. For those of us who are awake and know we choose to be here and now, I think the hardest part is to accept that for the most part we are spectators. We are not to get pulled in the frenzy of the change, only survive it and lay the foundation for the age that is birthing as we speak.

      It is our children and grandchildren who are the blessed ones. They are the true builders of the new age. I am of Lakota ancestry and there is a saying in our culture that as Grandfather loves an arrow that flies straight, so does he love a stable bow.

      This is our job now, to be stable bows. I sense you are just that. Thanks again for the kind words.

      May you always travel in Peace
      Redhawk

  2. Thank you so much Redhawk. I find so much of what you write inspiring and informative. Even if some of it is a little over my head! I’m simply feeling gratitude for your perspectives, for your purpose, and how it is making me think myself about what is happening and what my role is within all of it.

    I love the saying about the arrows and bows. I will remember that. Thank you as always.

    Kloshe klatawa (good journey)
    Runa

Leave a Reply

